Friday, January 11, 2013

Chili Bowl – Thursday Night West Coast Results and Recap

By Robert Haugh

In what was a repeat on Wednesday night, the West Coast comprised much of the A-main field, but it was Kevin Swindell, the reigning three-time Chili Bowl champion who came out on top in Thursday’s preliminary qualifying night at the 27th Annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals.

Ten of the 24 A-main starters were West Coast entries, with NASCAR racer Brad Sweet (Grass Valley, CA) claiming second in Gary Zarounian’s #67x Stealth/Toyota, followed by hard charger Tim McCreadie, a New York Late Model ace and former Chili bowl winner in third from 15th in Andy Bondio’s #47x Bondio/Barnes – putting up one of the most exciting performances of the week.
Arizona’s Jerry Coons, Jr. claimed fourth in the Dooling Machine #63 Spike/Esslinger with NASCAR racer Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA) claiming sixth in the Wilke-Pak #5 Stealth/Toyota.
Arizona native J.J. Yeley claimed seventh in the McKinnie Motorsports #1ST Hacked/Toyota with first-time Midget racer and Chili Bowl rookie D.J. Netto (Hanford, CA) claiming eighth in the Netto Farms #7N Stealth/Chevrolet. 2012 Chili Bowl rookie-of-the-year Richard VanderWeerd (Visalia, CA) claimed eleventh after starting 21st after transferring from a B-Main in Mike Sala’s #19s Spike/Sala Chevrolet. Bud Kaeding (Campbell, CA) claimed 12th in the Loyet Motorsports #05K Spike/Esslinger followed by Troy Rutherford (Ojai, CA) in Calvin Martens’ #11R TCR/Esslinger and Rico Abreu (Rutherford, CA) in the Keith Kunz #67 Bullet/Toyota.

Arizona’s Connor Kassik (Lake Havasu) was fifth in points after the Heats, having driven the high line to place second from sixth in the Neverlift Motorsports #115 Spike/Chevrolet. Kassik once again was flying high in A-Qualifier 1, having moved from fifth to second, including passes on Yeley and Abreu, but after bouncing off another car and suffering damage, Kassik settled for seventh. Kassik was fighting for a transfer position in B-Main 1, but suffered a flat tire, with the race going green before he could get back on the track.

California native Tyler Reddick (Corning) was looking for an alphabet soup run in the 2B Racing #2B Beast/Gaerte, having suffered from a DNF in his Heat race. Reddick moved from 12th to fourth in C-Main 1, then advanced from 16th to eighth on B-Main 1, four spots shy of making the A-Main.

Whitt claimed an A-Qualifer, while Rutherford claimed a B-Main. Tanner Swanson (Kingsburg, CA) claimed a C-Main victory in Ted Finkenbinder’s #3F Bullet/Chevy, coming from the rear, passing 11 cars for the win. Yeley, Sweet, Nic Faas (ABC Motorsports #12F Spike/Esslinger) and Coons all claimed Heat race wins.

Thursday’s John Christner Trucking Qualifying Night West Coast Results
A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 39-Kevin Swindell[1]; 2. 67X-Brad Sweet[4]; 3. 47X-Tim McCreadie[15]; 4. 63-Jerry Coons Jr[2]; 6. 5-Cole Whitt[3]; 7. 1ST-J.J. Yeley[6]; 8. 7N-D.J. Netto[7]; 11. 19S-Richard VanderWeerd[21]; 12. 05K-Bud Kaeding[8]; 14. 11R-Troy Rutherford[17]; 15. 67-Rico Abreu[14]

B Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 11R-Troy Rutherford[1]; 3. 19S-Richard VanderWeerd[5]; 7. 56P-Jason Leffler[2]; 8. 2B-Tyler Reddick[16]; 11. 7D-Michelle Decker[11]; 14. 115-Conner Kassik[3]
B Feature 2 (15 Laps): 5. 62-Dennis Howell[9]; 6. 12F-Nic Faas[5]; 8. 3F-Tanner Swanson[13]; 13. 26X-John Golobic[10]
A-Feature Qualifier #1 (10 Laps): 2. 1ST-J.J. Yeley[3]; 4. 67-Rico Abreu[7]; 5. 56P-Jason Leffler[10]; 7. 115-Conner Kassik[5]; 9. 62-Dennis Howell[2]; 10. 7D-Michelle Decker[8]
A-Feature Qualifier #2 (10 Laps): 1. 5-Cole Whitt[5]; 2. 63-Jerry Coons Jr[6]; 3. 7N-D.J. Netto[4]; 4. 47X-Tim McCreadie[7]; 9. 26X-John Golobic[9]
A-Feature Qualifier #3 (10 Laps): 2. 67X-Brad Sweet[4]; 7. 12F-Nic Faas[3]
A-Feature Qualifier #4 (10 Laps): 2. 05K-Bud Kaeding[3]; 5. 11R-Troy Rutherford[5]; 6. 19S-Richard VanderWeerd[9]
C Feature 1 (12 Laps): 4. 2B-Tyler Reddick[12]
C Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 3F-Tanner Swanson[10]; 8. 27C-Kip Hughes[8]; 9. 51X-Matt Lundy[4]; 10. 6C-Michael Heberling[11]; DNF 73X-Greg Edenholm[9]
Heat 1 (8 Laps): 4. 67-Rico Abreu[4]
Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 1ST-J.J. Yeley[1]; 2. 11R-Troy Rutherford[5]; 3. 7N-D.J. Netto[7]; 4. 47X-Tim McCreadie[6]; DNF 2B-Tyler Reddick[8]; DNF 3F-Tanner Swanson[4]
Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 67X-Brad Sweet[2]; 4. 19S-Richard VanderWeerd[3]; 8. 73X-Greg Edenholm[7]
Heat 4 (8 Laps): 3. 7D-Michelle Decker[3]; 4. 15D-Andrew Deal[8]
Heat 6 (8 Laps): 4. 05K-Bud Kaeding[8]
Heat 7 (8 Laps): 1. 12F-Nic Faas[1]; 3. 5-Cole Whitt[8]; 4. 56P-Jason Leffler[2]; 6. 51X-Matt Lundy[3];
Heat 8 (8 Laps): 1. 63-Jerry Coons Jr[5]; 2. 115-Conner Kassik[6]; 4. 62-Dennis Howell[8]; 5. 26X-John Golobic[7]; 7. 27C-Kip Hughes[4]; DNF 6C-Michael Heberling[3]
Friday west Coast Chili Bowl Entries

2R            Levi Roberts                        Broomfield, CO                        David Roberts Spike/Esslinger
3T            Tim Barber                        Fairfield, CA                        Chuck Cline Bullet/Chevrolet
6R            Joe Ramaker                        Boise, ID                        Jody Rosenboom DRC/Fontana
7            Shannon McQueen            Bakersfield, CA                        McQueen Racing Spike/Esslinger by McQueen
9E            Alex Schutte                        Rohnert Park, CA            Sean Dodenhoff EMC/Fontana
11XC            Steve Newman                        Steamboat Springs, CO            Mountain High BRE/BRE Ford
15X            Chad Boat                        Phoenix, AZ                        John Lawson Spike/Esslinger
21K            Cory Kruseman                        Ventura, CA                        Kruseman Motorsports Spike/Esslinger
27B            Johnny Scott                        Las Cruces, NM            Cliff Blackwell Stealth/Yates Ford
35D            Brett Felkins                        Lodi, CA                        Felkins Spike/Fontana
38K            Rick Hendrix                        Palmdale, CA                        Kruseman Motorsports Spike/Esslinger
55S            Trey Starks                        Puyallup, WA                        Jim Ferns Spike/Mopar
62S            Taylor Simas                        Orland, CA                        Douglas Bock Spike/Esslinger
68            Ronnie Gardner                        Corona, CA                        Six 8 Motorsports Stewart/Esslinger
71K            Jason Meyers                        Clovis, CA                        Keith Kunz Bullet/Speedway Toyota
73            Ryan Bernal                        Hollister, CA                        JFM Inc. Ellis/Bob Wirth Fontana
77            Mike Boesel                        Bennett, CO                        Mike Boesel Motorsports Stealth/Esslinger
84            Joey Fabozzi                                                            Fabozzi Racing Spike/Esslinger
88            Dustin Weland                        Parker, CO                        Buzzard/Fontana
151            Jesse Frazier                        Tulsa, OK                        Neverlift Motorsports Spike/Chevrolet
191            Chase Barber                        Brownsburg, IN                        Bret Barber Beast/Fontana

No comments:

Post a Comment